Week 3 – Gotta Catch Em’ All!

For cafe manager Matia Zoffoli, the quietest times of the year are the winter months when there is a lull in the number of people and tourists venturing out in the biting cold to Circular Quay to see the Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge.

June, July and August are usually the quietest times during the year at Circular Quay in Sydney, but Pokemon Go has taken the world by storm – for now, and business managers in the area are offering the hundreds of people who go out every day to catch rare creatures, various discounts and incentives to come into their shops, needless to say, businesses are indeed cashing in on the success of the game, and hope that the phenomena that has taken the world by storm, is here to stay

7666064-3x2-340x227

  • Who? – Pokemon Go players from all over the state & business owners at Circular Quay
  • What? – The phenomena that is Pokemon Go.
  • When – There isn’t really a “when” being reported on in this story, however, Pokemon Go was released about a month ago.
  • Where- Circular Quay & businesses around that area.
  • Why? – Because everyone wants to “Catch them All” 😉
  • How? – Businesses are offering discounts and various incentives to players for going into their shop.

7665894-3x2-340x227

Pokemon has been a big part of my life ever since I was a little kid, it was what taught me to read and during difficult times in primary school and high school, Pokemon would be my escape from the world among other things, I found the story really interesting because it reports on something that I love and is very close to me. I’ve grown up with Pokemon and I like to think I’m a huge Pokemon fan (Fun Fact: I’ve played a game from every generation to date!). Seeing so many people playing a game that I love, just brings joys to my eyes because they can experience the game that I love and cherish.

7632348-1x1-340x340

References:

ABC News. (2016). Businesses given a boost by Pokemon Go players searching for rare critters. [online] Available at: http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-07-29/pokemon-go-businesses-attracting-trainers/7665746?section=science [Accessed 9 Oct. 2016].

2 thoughts on “Week 3 – Gotta Catch Em’ All!

  1. Hello James,
    I love reading the content that you share through your blog. There are some grammar mistakes in your post, however. For instance:
    – “is honestly”, I believe that you want to say “to be honest” or juts “honestly”
    – “so to see so many people playing and having fun playing a game that I love and will continue to love for decades to come makes me incredibly happy”, it will be a little better if you make some adjustment like: “Therefore, seeing many people playing and having fun with the game makes me feel full of joy…..”

    Like

    1. Yeah :\ I usually type it that way cause it sounds less weird when I read it in my head, but then I realize, sometimes, that’s not actually right. Thanks for the feedback!

      Like

Leave a Reply

